Mary Ward’s Institutes Today

From the first foundation in St Omer in 1609, two branches of the Institute now exist, living under the full constitutions of the Society of Jesus: the Institute of the Blessed Virgin Mary, also known as Loreto sisters, and the Congregation of Jesus.

Mary Ward’s Sisters in the Congregation of Jesus minister in the following countries: Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Cuba, Chile, Czech Republic, Germany, Hungary, East Jerusalem, India, Italy, South Korea, Moldavia, Mongolia, Nepal, Spain, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, UK, Ukraine and Zimbabwe.

In England, Mary Ward’s own country, the historic Bar Convent was founded in York in 1686.

From here the IBVM Loreto branch was established by Teresa (Frances) Ball in Dublin in 1821 and expanded during the 19th and 20th centuries.

Mary Ward’s IBVM Sisters minister in the following countries: Albania, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Timor-Leste, England, Ghana, Gibraltar, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mauritius, Morocco, Peru, Seychelles, South Africa, Spain, South Sudan, USA, Vietnam and Zambia.

Both branches look to Mary Ward as their foundress, and are increasingly working together in support of each other’s apostolic work and the interpretation of Mary Ward’s charism.

“I would all were here… 
I commend to you the practice of your vocation, that it be constant, efficacious and loving.”
Vita E 167